In my last post, I promised you that I would let you know how we got on with baking our Carrot Cake from the recipe card I picked up at Winchester City Mill.

I started by greasing and preparing the tin. Duracell Bunny came along at this point and begged me to let him have a go, I let him and he loved doing it but got rather greasy in the process! Next, I creamed together the egg yolks, sugar and melted butter, DB then helped me to stir in some warm water. As we did this, I let DB feel the different ingredients to see how they feel. He told me that the sugar feels crunchy. When I added the wet ingredients to the dry, he said that it looks like a stream and it is magic how the mixture became darker brown in colour. Now the mixture felt squidgy to him. I then placed the remaining ingredients into a bowl, the recipe told me to add the egg mixture but having already been asked to do this, I ignored this and popped the rest of the ingredients in. I let DB stir, as he was doing this we chatted about imminent start at big school. He told me that he’s going to have a lot of fun at school; This is a breakthrough as he was devastated when he left preschool so I’m pleased that he is warming to the idea of starting school.

DB disappeared at this point to put some music on and Super Tiddles came into the kitchen. Just as I was stirring the final mixture together, ST said that looked like four speckled frogs on a speckled log (as that song had just started playing). I then whisked the egg whites and pop the cake into a tin then pop it into the oven to bake for 45 minutes. I open the oven a few minutes later and realise that I have inadvertently begun an experiment to see what happens when you leave the flour out of a cake mixture. I quickly whip it out of the oven, pour it into a large bowl, add the flour and put it back into the cake tin. I shove it back into the oven and hope for the best.

Forty five minutes later, I gingerly open the oven. The cake looks nothing like the one in the picture, but it smells delicious!  I place it on a wire rack to cool. While it is cooling we make the icing. This is a simple icing of cream cheese and icing sugar. When the cake is cool enough, we swirl the icing on top of it. We then can’t wait to try some, the boys and I all agree that it is delicious!

You can find the recipe here https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/winchester-city-mill/features/baking-and-recipe-cards-at-winchester-city-mill. I strongly advise you not to forget to add the flour!

I’d better go, I’ve got an oven to clean 😉

© Jane Gill 2016

 

 

