I recently started reading Ivy Lane by Cathy Bramley. I don’t want to give too much of the plot away, but the general theme of the book is life after the loss of a spouse. The book reminds me of Cecelia Ahern’s P.S. I Love You, which was published in 2005 (I can’t believe it’s that long ago!). I will write a more detailed review of the book once I’ve finished it. I enjoy Cathy Bramley’s lighthearted brand of romantic comedy and Ivy Lane is laugh-out-loud funny!

At the back of the book there are a number of recipes grouped by season. As it is supposedly summer, I decided to have a go at the Summer Pudding recipe. I enlisted the help of Duracell Bunny. DB  helped me to add water to the sugar, I told him to stand back for the boiling of the sugar. Next, we added a mountain of summer berries (raspberries, blackberries and blackcurrants) and left these to gently heat for three minutes. After the three minutes were up, we sieved the fruit and collected the juice in a bowl, then lined a different bowl with cling film. Next came the fun bit, dipping slices of white bread into the juice till it’s saturated. DB absolutely loved doing this, he had a whale of a time! Once we had lined the base and sides of the bowl, we  began spooning in the cooked fruit and the uncooked strawberries. We then used the remaining triangles of bread to make a ‘lid’ for the pudding. The final thing to do was cover it with clingfilm, weight it down and pop it in the fridge for six hours. You can find a reliable recipe for Summer Pudding by clicking the link below.

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/4516/summer-pudding

This is a great dish to make with children, although there is no baking involved, it really is very easy for children to do and is a great bonding activity.

 

 

 

