Placeholder ImageHello again! If you remember, in my last blog post I described how Duracell Bunny and I tried out the Summer Pudding recipe which can be found at the back of this novel. This turned out to be a great recipe to try with a young child, as it is so easy to do!

The novel is as sweet in tone as the Summer Pudding we made. It is the perfect summer read – perfectly light and breezy. Our protagonist, Tilly Parker, is (at the start of the story) a grieving widow reminiscent of Holly in Cecelia Ahern’s P.S. I Love You. The setting of the story is an allotment. Tilly has been told by her counsellor to take up gardening in order to help her recover from losing her spouse. The novel takes us through what happens to Tilly as the seasons progress. By the time we reach Summer, like the plants she has been growing, Tilly is really starting to open up. At the stage in the story she has become more like Jane Austen’s Emma, as she has begun to engage in some matchmaking for the other allotmenteers as well as helping out her friends in other ways. Although, Tilly is a much more likeable character than Emma. Like Emma, Tilly (somewhat predictably) gets her man at the end of the story.

Speaking of Jane Austen, I recently visited her house (which has been turned into a museum). While I was there, I bought a book called Tea with Jane Austen. In my next post I will tell you more about our visit there, and if I have time I will try out one of the recipes from the book!

See you soon 🙂

© Jane Gill 2016

 

 

