Good morning!

Following on from my last post, in which I described my family’s visit to Jane Austen’s House, yesterday I kept my promise and had a go at baking one of the recipes from my ‘Tea with Jane Austen’ recipe book. I found this book in the shop at Jane Austen’s House, it is written by Pen Vogler and contains some recipes ‘inspired by the writings of Jane Austen’.

I began by preheating the oven to Gas Mark Love (I mean 4). Next, I weigh out the flour and bicarbonate of soda as well as the spices. In goes teaspoons of ground ginger, some ground nutmeg for authentic flavour, ground cloves and then ground cinnamon (the recipe doesn’t call for this but I couldn’t resist because I love the stuff). I pop in some soft brown sugar (as I don’t have enough I add some molasses sugar). Now, and this is my favourite bit, I add the syrup and the treacle, I just love watching how it swirls off the spoon in golden rivulets. I then turn the page and see that I was meant to put the syrups into a saucepan with the butter and gently heat. Oh dear, too late! I heat the butter in the microwave and then add it as well as a beaten egg. This seems to work fine so I put it in the fridge for 20 minutes. Twenty minutes flies by and then I take it out of the fridge and start cutting it into ’rounds’. In they go, into the oven to bake for about ten minutes.

And then I take them out of the oven, they smell divine! They are wonderfully warming, a perfect Autumn treat! 🙂 Well done Jane!

© Jane Gill 2016

 

 

 

 

