Autumn is the perfect time to make yummy and warming gingerbread men. When the weather cools down, there is nothing more pleasurable than to bake gingerbread men and enjoy them fresh from the oven. Even though the weather is yet to noticeably cool down, I decided that as it was October half term, I would grasp the opportunity to bake some gingerbread men with SuperTiddles and the Duracell Bunny.

I recently bought myself of ‘Bake Me a Story’ by Nadiya Hussain and used her recipe for her ‘Not-Just-Ginger Gingerbread Guy. If you want the recipe then go out and buy her book! ;). I began by grinding my star anise in a pestle and mortar which gave off a wonderful aroma of aniseed. Next I did the least child friendly bit and dissolved the sugar into some of the other ingredients in a saucepan. I then added the other ingredients to form the gingerbread dough and popped it into the fridge for a couple of hours (I didn’t get my boys involved at this stage because I don’t think they’d be able to contain their excitement for a whole two hours). Before each recipe in the book, there is a story related to the recipe, so while the dough was chilling, I read the story to my boys. They loved it and I also let them smell and feel the star anise and ginger, Duracell Bunny didn’t like either of them, the smells are quite pungent!  Soon, it was time to cut out the gingerbread men and bake them. When they were baked and cooled we had fun decorating them. I was not expecting Durcell Bunny to tip a whole tube of salted caramel chunks onto one of them so I spent quite some time clearing up! We made good use of writing icing though.

Today, hubby carved our pumpkin so now I have a mountain of pumpkin flesh, I plan to use it to make a pumpkin tray bake with Duracell Bunny as he’s got an INSET day tomorrow, so I’ll let you know how we get on. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

