Good morning! Now that Halloween’s over and Super Tiddles and Duracell Bunny are both back at school, I am enjoying some time to myself.

Super Tiddles went back to school yesterday, so I did some baking (and other Halloween activities) with Duracell Bunny. After hubby had carved the pumpkin on Sunday, we were left with a mountain of pumpkin flesh as well as a bowl full of pumpkin seeds. I found a recipe for a Halloween pumpkin cake on the BBC Good Food website and decided it would be a good way to use some of the pumpkin flesh up. We started by putting all of our dry ingredients into my favourite large mixing bowl. Next we combined all of the wet ingredients and mixed them into the wet ingredients, then added the grated pumpkin. Duracell Bunny had a good go at mixing it all together. He told me that it looked like sticky mud (I can assure you that it tasted a lot better than mud). While the cake was in the oven we made the icing and popped it into the fridge to relax. Once the cake was cooked and still warm, we pricked it all over with a skewer and drizzled some orange juice over it. Bob’s your uncle! It really is a yummy way to get rid of the leftovers from pumpkin carving. I still have loads of pumpkin flesh left so I’ll puree it and freeze it. I also plan to roast the pumpkin seeds.

Once we had finished making the cake, Duracell Bunny was keen to paint some ceramic pumpkins that I bought from Baker Ross, so we got on with that. I also had a go at baking a loaf of soda bread but that went horribly wrong. It was a Halloween Horror!

My freezer is full of all the delicious things I’ve been baking. 🙂 Once all the pumpkin cake has been eaten up, I might well bake a toffee apple traybake for Bonfire Night.

See you soon. 🙂

 

 

