Hello readers!

I’m watching my figure these days so I haven’t done much baking since Christmas. I always end up eating too many of my bakes! A few days ago I started to make a list of books I loved when I was a child.

The Children of Green Knowe by Lucy M. Boston was a firm favourite. The tale begins with a small boy of 7 taking the journey to his new home. He lost his mother when he was young and had been sent to boarding school by his father and step mother when they moved to Burma. He has been invited by his great grandmother to go and live with her. We find out early in the book that the boy will be known as Tolly. The mystery of the other children is slowly revealed throughout the novel. This a bittersweet tale of the tragic loss of Tolly’s mother at a tender age but is a heartwarming tale of homecoming and getting in touch with family again. It is a wonderfully crafted tale of childhood magic and wonder (and of course friendship). Like Moomin Valley, Green Knowe is a great place to escape to.

When I was a child, I read the book as a magical ghost story but as I reread it now it becomes clear that it is a wonderful mood-piece of family and friendship. I also googled Green Knowe and I was astonished to find that it is based on a very real place which still exists called The Manor in Hemmingford. I am already planning a trip there. For more information have a look at this website. http://www.greenknowe.co.uk/history.html.

I’m off to look into my own family history now. 🙂

