Hello readers!

I had some devastating news yesterday. I received an email from Challengers to say that they have lost funding for three of their play-schemes and two youth schemes, including the play scheme Super Tiddles and DeeBee frequently attend during school holidays. Surrey County Council have made the decision to cut funding for respite in our area. They recently cut funding for Beeches Respite Centre in Reigate. Now they have cut funding for the only play scheme in our area which takes disabled children and their siblings. The alternative they are offering is an oversubscribed play scheme for disabled so there will be a vast reduction in available spaces.

When I was looking for holiday care for Super Tiddles years ago I looked at both Challengers scheme and Yippee Club. I chose Challengers because I was aware that they take siblings too (Yippee Club doesn’t take siblings at the moment). Both my boys love going to their play scheme and are already looking forward to going there in the summer holidays. It is a great help to me as it gives me a chance to get some work done while my boys are in a safe and fun environment.

I recently read the article below which paints a gloomy picture of the future for disabled people. I wonder if this is the first step in that direction. These play schemes are a lifeline to so many families so Surrey County Council have made a lot of people very unhappy.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/jan/25/disabled-people-disabilities-health-care-homes

 

