Good evening readers!

The recent decision by Surrey County Council to cut funding to the Challengers play scheme has really thrown a spanner in the works. I would like to go back to work in the not too distant future. The lack of childcare provided for special needs children in my area is a serious barrier to me working standard full time hours.

My ideal job would allow me to work out of the home for two days a week and at home for the rest of the week. It would be a fairly local job so I could get back for the boys if need be. I want to get a job writing articles for a magazine but those kind of jobs are thin on the ground in my area. The recent Making Creativity Work programme has really inspired me to aim to get a job in print/digital magazine journalism. I would really love to get a job as a staff writer for a magazine. Are such jobs always full time or is it possible to do it part time or as a job share?

I think that the only option seems to be working in a school. The trouble is that I don’t want to. There must be a way around this, I just haven’t thought of it yet.

 

